Team India Earns Win Over Pakistani Side Amidst Controversy, Uncertainty - and Flying Pest Infestation

The Pakistani team Voices Unhappiness As Third Umpire Questionably Reverses Run-out Verdict

Women's Cricket World Cup, Colombo

Indian Total 247 (Fifty overs): Deol 46 (65 balls); Diana Baig 4-69

Team Pakistan 159 runs (43-over innings): Amin 81 (106-ball knock); Goud's 3 wickets for 20

India won by 88 runs

The Indian side continued their perfect beginning to the Women's World Cup with a comfortable 88-run win versus traditional opponents Pakistan in Colombo.

Deol registered the highest score making 46 runs as Richa Ghosh hammered 35 not out off 20 deliveries in the closing stages to lift India up to 247 runs throughout their knock which witnessed numerous batters begin well but fail to kick on.

Seamer Diana Baig took four wickets for 69 while Pakistan dismissed India out for the first time in women's one-day international from the last ball of the innings yet an initial triumph continued to evade them.

Following a slide to twenty-six for three in the chase, Pakistan momentarily fought back as Sidra Amin - who eventually compiled 81 in 105-ball innings following being given reprieves three times - along with Natalia Pervaiz added 69 runs during their fourth-wicket stand.

However India, guided by Goud's three for twenty, stuck to their task to bowl out the Pakistani team for 159 runs during the 43rd over and ascend to first position of the group table.

As is so often the case during India-Pakistan encounters, however, there existed much more to the contest, with controversy and confusion scattered across the encounter...

Dismissal Dispute

Probably the most significant talking point emerged from a situation in the beginning of Pakistan's knock as opening batter Muneeba was controversially given out running.

The left-handed batter was struck on the protective padding by Goud and as the bowler from India appealed unsuccessfully for leg before wicket, Sharma collected the loose ball and launched at the bails.

She hit yet footage demonstrated Muneeba had grounded her bat ahead of the ball came into view and an 'not out' ruling by the TV umpire Kerrin Klaaste went up on the large screen in the ground.

However, prior to play resuming, the verdict was re-examined and it became apparent that as the ball hit the stumps and removed the bails, Muneeba had raised the bat and was still stood away from her ground.

Although the player had already grounded her bat and didn't endeavor to take a quick run, the TV official altered her ruling to 'dismissed' and regardless of Pakistan's complaints, which involved captain Fatima Sana instruct her player not to leave the ground temporarily, the batter had to exit.

In a further twist, should India have referred the LBW appeal, the whole controversy would have been avoided because ball-tracking showed Muneeba was clearly out LBW.

What do the laws of the sport indicate?

30.1 Regarding being out of ground

Section 30.1.1 A batter shall be considered as out of their ground if no part of his/her person or bat is placed behind the line at that side.

Rule 30.1.2 Nonetheless, a batter shall not be considered to be out of his/her ground if, while sprinting or diving to their crease and past, and following embedding an element of their body or bat over the line, there is subsequent loss of connection between the surface and any portion of their body or bat, or between the bat and person.

'Incorrect toss announcement'

Uncertainty when Pakistan incorrectly awarded flip against India

It should have been clear that things would not be uncomplicated in this contest from the very toss.

Within an environment of governmental disputes involving both countries, that captains Sana and Harmanpreet Kaur did not shake hands was expected - particularly considering the established pattern in recent matches among the men's teams.

Nonetheless, none could have anticipated that Sana would call wrongly yet gain the flip.

The Pakistani captain announced "tails" as Harmanpreet flicked the coin yet umpire Shandre Fritz misheard and declared "heads called".

Commentator and ex-Australian player Jones was managing the toss and repeated the referee's statement, the coin landed on heads and it was announced that Pakistan secured the toss.

Neither leader disputed it therefore the captain managed to step forward and confirm that the Pakistani side would chase.

An innocent mistake and considering India's victory in any case, no damage caused.

Insects halt match

'Who will you contact?' - 'Pest controller' comes as flies stop play

In between {the toss confusion|the coin flip confusion|the toss

Megan Gross
Megan Gross

Automotive journalist with a passion for luxury vehicles and years of experience in car reviewing and industry analysis.